Intro To Introductions

Hi there! Welcome to my blog, Illogical Correspondent, the blog I intend to carry with me throughout my University degree and onwards into the future.

For those of you that haven’t met me yet (And lets face it, I don’t get out much, so it probably is like 95% of people), my name is Cal Behrendt, and I am undertaking a double degree in Law and Journalism at the University of Wollongong. As of time of writing, I am currently in my second year of Law and starting my first year of Journalism.

I originally picked up this degree because I wanted to pursue Journalism as a career, after seeing my cousin go into the industry and love her work, but also because of the HBO show The Newsroom, which, while often unrealistic, had me wanting to learn more about the industry and the art of Journalism.

However, there are only a few Universities that offer Journalism as a straight degree. One of them is Wollongong, another is UTS in Sydney, and a third is Charles Sturt in my home town of Bathurst. Bathurst seemed like a logical option, but I ultimately decided to go to UOW for two main reasons. Firstly, I wanted a change after a period of 13 years being stagnant, not only in terms of local life (As I had been at the same school in the same town from Kindergarten to Year 12) but also I wanted a new challenge. Living alone in a big city took getting used to, but I love the challenge that arises with everyday life, something that I would not have gotten had I stayed home.

Secondly, and probably the big reason why I went to Wollongong, is I was told by many number of people that I needed a second degree as a back up, as entering into a dying industry (Something perceived by many) would not be a good idea for a future career. I had a passing interest in Law, even going so far as to do my Extension History work on the International Law Battle for the Falkland Islands, but it was not until I put in for UOW Early Entry that it became a legit idea in my head.

So after all that boring stuff (Congrats if you are still reading!) I thought I would finish this initial post with a bit of fun, answering some questions from here just so all you readers know who i am and where my contexts are coming from.

Who is the most famous person you’ve ever met?

It would have to be Glenn McGrath, who I literally ran into during the Sydney Test match against England back in 2011. If I had to say a 2nd? Thomas Broich, the Brisbane Roar midfielder.

Are you a window person or an aisle person?

I had a major fear of heights when I was younger, I have mostly dealt with it now, but if someone offers me an aisle space, I will take it every time. You have so much more leg space.

Where do you most often find yourself singing?

I’ll pretty much be singing whenever I am by myself, be it in the car, the shower, or sometimes a train carriage.

What’s your favorite thing to do on a rainy day?

Nothing beats lying in bed with the blinds open and marathoning a TV show.

What’s your favorite cereal?

I personally loved the FIFA cereal that was a thing about 10 years ago, but today I cannot skip 5-6 Weet-Bix and an almost diabetic amount of sugar.

What’s your favorite TV show?

If you had asked me two years ago, I would have said Community or Breaking Bad. But today it has to be Hannibal, but not far behind it is The Americans.

What is your favorite quotation?

I have two, so if this is cheating then oh well!

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is ‘never try’.” – Homer Simpson from The Simpsons (‘Burns’ Heir’ for all you diehards).

“Everything’s Coming Up Milhouse!” – THRILLHO from The Simpsons (I Watch a lot of Simpsons)

What’s your favorite movie to watch over and over again?

It would have to be Hot Fuzz (2007). I’m pretty sure I could quote the whole movie at one stage during school.

What was the last CD you bought?

I just pre-ordered the CD for The Wombats new album Glitterbug, but that hasn’t been released yet, so I guess i’d have to go with The Griswolds – Be Impressive

What was the last movie you saw?

I think it was Whiplash? It’s the last movie I remember watching and enjoying so i’m gonna go with that one.

If you could have dinner with any three people, whom would you choose?

I’d have to go two of my sporting idols, Miroslav Klose and Tim Cahill, but as for the third, the wildcard of Bryan Fuller or Dan Harmon could make for an enjoyable meal.

If you could hire any actor to portray you in a movie, who would you chose?

My gut is telling me Hugh Dancy could work quite well, but if this was real than probably the guy who plays McLovin (Christopher Mintz-Plasse)

If you could play any instrument, which would you play?

I have been playing the Drums since 2008 and wouldn’t change it for anything. That being said, it would be funny to learn the guitar just to annoy people with Wonderwall.

If you could be any cartoon character, who would you be?

I would love to be Rick from Rick and Morty (Maybe minus the alcoholism) but anyone from the world of Daria would be pretty cool too.

If you could make any fictional character come to life, which would it be?

It would have to be Abed from Community. He seems like someone I would get along with really well and it would be awesome to hang out with him and the rest of the Study Group.

 

 

Leave a Reply

